You are viewing an old blog post! That means that links will be broken, and images may be missing.

January 17, 2006

President Bush can’t wait & Media appearance

Today’s Downsizer-Dispatch…

We want to thank the DC Downsizers who helped fund the start of our RTBA media campaign. The first fruits are announced later in this message. In other words, we have our first interviews of 2006 scheduled (details below)!

Thank you to the 144 people who’ve provided $11,566 thus far. We’re very excited.

And very soon you’ll also see the launch of a campaign to stop Senator John McCain’s bill to put grassroots lobbying groups, like DownsizeDC.org, “on ice.”

Plus, next week we hope to start introducing you to our very exciting new plan for lobbying Congress to pass RTBA. This plan is very achievable, we think, but 1,000 times more effective than anything we’ve done before.

Meanwhile, President Bush can’t wait for renewal of his Patriot Act powers, and so we must move quickly to deal with his impatience.

Congress nearly worked out a deal to delay the sunset of certain Patriot Act powers for six months. The purpose of this extension was to provide time to create “safeguards” for the use of those powers. But President Bush wants the process to move forward now. So he brokered his own deal to reduce the delay from six months to one month.

Frankly, we think the idea of safeguards is useless. President Bush has already shown his willingness to ignore all such provisions. The Democrats want to lull us to sleep by adding yet another layer of useless bureaucracy on top of all the other layers that have proved so ineffective in the past.

It’s time to tell Congress once again to let the Patriot Act provisions SUNSET. We have to keep hammering them, to make them as nervous as possible. To send your message to Congress click here.

My first INTERVIEWS of 2006

1) Talk Radio – Local (FLA), Internet, & Satellite

DATE: Wednesday, January 18, 2006
TIME: 3 PM Eastern
2 PM Central
1 PM Mountain
Noon Pacific
LENGTH: 1 hour
SHOW: Fate of Nations with Brett Folks
NETWORK: First Amendment Radio Network
TOPIC: Read the Bills Act

How to hear the show…
INTERNET: firstamendmentradio.com/listen (Real Player or Winamp required)
SATELLITE: Telstar 5 KU Band Frequency: 11836 – Symbol Rate: 20.770 – Vertical Polarization – PID: 62 – Right Channel
FLAGSHIP AFFILIATE: 95.3 FM, WXEI, in Crestview, Florida – heard from South into Ft Lauderdale and North into Southern Alabama.

You can call in to the show at… (559) 781-3773

2) Talk Radio – Local (St. Louis)& Internet

DATE: Thursday, January 19, 2006
TIME: 11 AM Eastern
10 AM Central
9 AM Mountain
8 AM Pacific
LENGTH: 1 hour
SHOW: Brett Rosen
STATION: Radio Free St. Louis, AM-920 WGNU
TOPIC: Read the Bills Act

How to hear the show…
INTERNET: wgnu.net/live (Windows Media Player required)
LOCAL: St. Louis AM-920, WGNU
You can call in to the show at… Local 314-454-0400
or 877-920-WGNU

Thank you for being a DC Downsizer.

Jim Babka
President
DownsizeDC.org, Inc.

P.S. Monthly pledgers give us consistency – a source of revenue on which we can rely. That consistency allows us to plan, experiment, take calculated risks, innovate, and expand. We still need to increase our level of support. Please, join us.

P.P.S. Just a reminder, I will be speaking in San Diego on Saturday, January 28 at the San Diego Libertarian Party convention. I’d love to see you there. Click here for details.

If your comment is off-topic for this post, please email us at feedback@downsizedc.org

Post a Comment

Your email is never published nor shared. Required fields are marked *

*
*
 
© 2008–2018 DownsizeDC.org